Ooh, I’d love to make YOU into a sweater!

7 Jan

Since my family lives about 20 minutes away from Disney World, we go there often.  This is my dream-come-true life.  One of my favorite things to do is to visit the petting zoo at Animal Kingdom, because therein resides Dusty the World’s Snootiest Llama.  Okay, so really it’s just Dusty, but I’ve added the rest after visiting him twice and seeing him display this behavior:

Here is the basic summary of Dusty’s schtick:  He prances around, look-at-me-I’m-so-pretty, batting his ridiculously long eyelashes at the audience.  So the people in the crowd beckon to Dusty, in a please-let-me-pet-your-pretty-hair kind of a way.  And he appears to indulge them.  He begins to trot in their direction, gets right to the edge of their armslength, and contorts his head backwards to stay out of their reach.  It is the animal equivalent of a great big “PSYCH!”  Dusty is too sexy for the petting zoo.

The video is pretty short, but here are some still photos of this haughty llama:

"You want to pet me, don't you?  It's because I'm so beautiful."

"You want to pet me, don't you? It's because I'm so beautiful."

"Don't hate me because I'm beautiful."

"Don't hate me because I'm beautiful."

 

"Ha ha ha, I have eluded you once again, foolish humans!"

"Ha ha ha, I have eluded you once again, foolish humans!"

 

Next time we visit Animal Kingdom, I’m bringing a shearer.

One Response to “Ooh, I’d love to make YOU into a sweater!”

  1. Ann January 7, 2009 at 10:08 am #

    You realize that a llama owner once told me that she would rather have her llama PEE on her than spit on her. Stay away from llamas they are nasty. Rumor has it when you get a new one the original owner gives you a sack of poop b/c they only poop in one spot. Yuck!

Leave a Reply

