Time to Read!

12 Dec

Here is this week’s posting idea from Booking Through Thursday:

1. Do you get to read as much as you WANT to read?

Pretty much, actually. I am a Reading teacher, so I give my students independent reading time at least twice a week. All the studies show (lucky me) that a teacher should read during the reading time she allows in class, to show her students that reading should take precedence over other activities once in a while. So I get to read at work. Then, the other bonus of my job is that I get home by 3:15 every afternoon, which usually leaves me time to clean up my house a little, crochet a little, AND read a little in the evenings. Of course, if I could quit my job and read more, I’d do it in a heartbeat!

2. If you had (magically) more time to read–what would you read? Something educational? Classic? Comfort Reading? Escapism? Magazines?

I would read more of the classics, I think. Right now I read mostly escapism YA lit to keep up with my students’ reading preferences, which is really cool, don’t get me wrong. But if I had more time, I’d be re-reading all that English major lit. I forgot mostly about since graduating with my BA in Literature. 🙂

What about you? How do you make time for reading, and how do you select what to read?

3 Responses to “Time to Read!”

  1. Jeane December 12, 2008 at 7:12 am #

    I’d read more classics, too. Right now it’s mostly lighter fiction and some non-fic for me.

  2. Stephanie December 12, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    I don’t get to read enough, or knit enough, or do the things I want to enough. I think that part of the problem is that I am too tired being pregnant and sick at the moment, and all I have energy to do is skim blogs and watch TV.

  3. gautami tripathy December 12, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    I am teacher too. So I know what you mean. I get home early and spend a lot of time reading.

    Here is my BTT post

Leave a Reply

