Hair Yesterday, Gone Today

28 Nov

So, yesterday, my 3-year-old passed through a childhood milestone: the self-imposed hair cut.

Here is what she did to herself:

102_0518

102_0520

Sort of a sideways-mullett-half-Dorothy-Hamil sort of a ‘do. Yikes, right?

So, today we went to the hair salon, and this is what they were able to do in order to salvage her hair:

102_0524

102_0525

102_0526

This reminds me of the time my mother took me to the hairdresser for “a trim” when I was about 7 or 8. I had shoulder-length hair at the time, and I came out looking like Dorothy Hamil. Slightly shorter than what Jilly has now. I was traumatized, because everyone thought I looked like a boy. I am glad to know that Jillian is constantly wearing dresses and other girly things, so there will be no mistaking my beautiful baby for a boy, even from far away. Her father is heartbroken, but I have reassured him that it will grow out, and our little lady won’t have a bowl cut forever. 🙂

2 Responses to “Hair Yesterday, Gone Today”

  1. Turtle November 30, 2008 at 5:00 am #

    oh no! but the end result is super cute!

  2. Stephanie December 7, 2008 at 8:35 pm #

    She looks good! At least she didn’t cut it to the scalp so you had to shave her bald!

Leave a Reply

