Birthday Books

7 Nov

Here is this week’s prompt from Booking Through Thursday:

What, if any, memorable or special book have you ever gotten as a present? Birthday or otherwise. What made it so notable? The person who gave it? The book itself? The “gift aura?”

Well, I don’t remember specific titles too well. I do remember Rosemary, though. Rosemary was one of my mother’s closest friends when I was little, and she was like a godmother to me and to my siblings. Every year, for my birthday and Christmas, Rosemary would give me a new book. A lot of stupid materialistic buttheads kids these days might not be big fans of a gift-giver like Rosemary, but I liked it pretty well. Granted, I might have been more enthusiastic about the Cabbage Patch dolls and the My Little Pony toys, but I still loved Rosemary’s books.

As the superintendent of my school system, Rosemary took an active role in my education, and she inspired me to be a lifelong bookie. I owe it all to her.

Leave a Reply

