Weddings are fun, aren’t they?

29 Oct

Well, at least they would be if all brides handed out flasks as wedding giveaways.  Unfortunately, I did NOT bring my flask to my SIL’s wedding last weekend, so I was out of luck on the fun department.

Don’t get me wrong … the wedding was beautiful.  The bride was beautiful, the groom was completely enamored, the decorations were lovely, and my kids looked AWESOME in their little tux and flower girl dress, respectively.

 

See?  So cute.

However, my MIL, otherwise and henceforth known as the Wicked Witch of the South, did all she could to sabotage the wedding.  Screaming, refusing to help, messing with the decorations, and making the bride cry in regular intervals.  Also, calling multiple times during the honeymoon, only to question whether the groom was not allowing the bride answer the phone when she finally did, after five calls in a row.  Oh, yeah, we’ve reached new levels of evil. 

Here’s a summary of the weekend, which occurred in the form of a conversation on the plane ride home:

(Will was smooshing my mouth for his enjoyment and no other reason but that).
ME:  Will, please stop smooshing my mouth.  I have a boo boo (aka canker sore).
WILL:  Mommy, how did you get a boo boo in your MOUTH?!?
ME:  Probably from all the stress of dealing with Grammy this weekend.  (Oops, did I just say that out loud to my 5-year-old?  Yes, yes I did.  That’s what kind of weekend it was.)
WILL:  Mommy, are you allergic to Grammy?
(Lady next to us on plane erupts into laughter at this point and agrees that yes, Mommy probably is allergic to Grammy, as we all usually are allergic to our mothers in law.)

So from now on, I’m not going to Tennessee sans flask.  Put THAT on my Christmas list.

One Response to “Weddings are fun, aren’t they?”

  1. Stephanie November 1, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    Wow, glad my mil is a saint compared to that!

Leave a Reply

