CSI for the Teenage Soul

19 Oct

Okay, so I have finished another YA book: Alane Ferguson’s The Christopher Killer. This one follows a young girl named Cameryn, whose father is the cororner in a small town out west. Cameryn’s dad asks her to be his assistant when his workload starts to pile up, since Cameryn dreams of growing up to be a forensic scientist (like my friend, Christina, once did). But things start to get tricky for Cameryn when a serial killer’s latest victim turns up in her town … and it’s someone she knows.

Now, I should say, I’m a huge fan of crime shows like Law & Order, CSI, Dexter, etc. So when I started reading this book, I thought I had the killer pegged just a few chapters in. After all, I thought, it’s just YA lit; how tricky can it be? Well, I should have known. I had it all wrong. The ending surprised me, and left me with a little bit of a cliffhanger, to boot. So, I’m adding its sequel to my list: The Angel of Death.

I like Cameryn; she’s not an idiot, and she puts her desire to solve the crime ahead of her bouts of nausea and fear. She’s a strong character, who still resembles a normal teenage girl but without uber-levels of drama. Overall, a quick and good read.

Leave a Reply

