Book Selections

10 Oct

Here is the listing from this week’s Booking Through Thursday, a day late:

What was the last book you bought?
I just bought the whole set of books from the Florida Teens Read list. I think it was about a dozen or so.

Name a book you have read MORE than once
All the Harry Potter books, except book 7.

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?
Hmmm. Probably, but I’m not sure what it was. I used to really like SARK’s books for that; but I haven’t read one in a while. I think nonfiction might be more likely for this category, and I don’t read a lot of it.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews?
All of the above. Sometimes I browse the bestseller shelves at a book store, or the new arrivals at the library, sometimes I pick something I read about in a review or that someone at work or another friend recommends.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?
Definitely fiction. I like to escape.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?
Hmmm. Good one. I can go for either, and it’s enough to keep me going. But the gripping plot will make me read more voraciously, while I might slow down and savor the beautiful writing.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)
Okay, that’s like asking me to choose my favorite child.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?
Right now, I’m reading Debbie Macomber’s “A Good Yarn,” and in conjunction I plan to start Jay Asher’s “Thirteen Reasons Why” when it arrives from Amazon (a Teens Read book).

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?
I just finished “The Christopher Killer” today. Another Teens Read book.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?
Yes, and often sooner than halfway. I did that with Eckhart Tolle’s “A New Earth;” didn’t get past the introduction. To be honest, I would have quit reading “Uglies,” too, if it weren’t on my students’ reading lists. But I really loved it after about the halfway point, so I’m glad I didn’t.

In other book-related news, a review:

Title: Wicked Lovely
Author: Melissa Marr

This is a book about faeries, and a girl who can see them even though they are invisible to most humans. The girl, Aislinn, has grown up with this sight, as did her mother and grandmother before her. Aislinn is terrified that the faeries will learn her secret, because most of them are evil at worst, and menacing at best. Then, Aislinn’s world starts to fall apart when the faeries start breaking rules, and she is pulled into their world by the Summer King, a head-honcho type faery that is stalking her, to say the least.

Eventually, Aislinn has to interact with these faeries, and she is forced to make a choice: embrace their lifestyle or live a torturous existence.

I’ve never been one to study faeries or myths about them, so I didn’t know if I would like this book. But Marr did a good job of incorporating little faery facts as the introduction to each chapter, which helped me understand enough background to get through the book. I was drawn into the characters, and sort of torn by which way I wanted Aislinn to choose by the end. It turned out to be a quick read (meaning I read it quickly because it was good), and enjoyable. Aislinn’s character is a girl who thinks for herself and makes logical choices, despite living a crazier existence than most of us do. And the faery characters are multifaceted enough to be interesting, and self-absorbed enough to be amusing.

Leave a Reply

