Ooh, bubbly!

25 Sep

Okay, so that’s just a phrase out of the book I’m about to review, so if you don’t get it, I apologize. 

Today is Thursday, and normally I would participate in Booking Through Thursdays, but I just wasn’t able to answer the prompt.  So, instead, I decided to post my review of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. What a great book!

It’s about a girl named Tally who lives in a futuristic society where everyone has a surgery at age 16 to turn them supermodel-gorgeous. Before then, they are referred to as uglies, hence the title. The theory is that if everyone is beautiful, no one will be judged by their looks. Tally is about to turn 16 when she meets Shay, a new friend with no desire to be transformed. Together, they have a lot of adventures before they turn 16. When Shay runs away to escape the surgery, the government forces Tally to choose between friendship and beauty. Along the way, Tally learns about the darker side of her society, and meets some new and extremely interesting friends.

This book was a great read, very much like a modern-day 1984. It was a little slow at first, and to be honest, I probably wouldn’t have finished it if I weren’t reading it for work. But once it picked up, it got hard to put down. Warning: It’s part of a series of 4 books, and you’ll want to read the rest of them when you read this one! I’ve already got in my order with Amazon.com.

2 Responses to “Ooh, bubbly!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Nature of Jade « Jessecreations’s Weblog - October 1, 2008

    […] books in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer – Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (see my review of that here) – The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti – Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr (look for a review tomorrow or […]

  2. It ain’t easy bein’ Pretties … « Jessecreations’s Weblog - October 6, 2008

    […] time, I’m reviewing Pretties, the sequel to Uglies, which I reviewed here. In this book, we continue with Tally Youngblood, the heroine of the last novel. In this one, she […]

Leave a Reply

