Food for Thought

19 Sep

So, this past Sunday I got adventurous with my eating: I ate cactus! Yes, that’s right, the girl who would not eat anything but “Happy Family” at a Chinese restaurant until I was 14 years old, ate cactus. Here’s a picture of it:

The picture doesn’t do it justice. It seems a little bit weird looking, but I swear it was good. They cut off a leaf, take off the spikes, and grill it with seasonings. It’s cool. It tastes like green beans, with a slightly firmer texture like a green pepper.

In other news of eating things, here’s the question one of my students posed to me today:

If you were stranded somewhere on a deserted island, near death from starvation, and your beloved pet was with you, would you eat your pet in order to survive?

I, of course, said NO WAY!! I just cannot picture myself doing that.

Then, we started thinking, if you died would your pet eat YOU in order to survive, or would it die there next to you?

Hmmm. Anyone?

2 Responses to “Food for Thought”

  1. Kim September 19, 2008 at 11:15 am #

    Wow. That’s exciting to try something like that. What kind of restaurant had cactus? I’m somewhat adventurous when it comes to trying food. I’d like to try that.

    I think that yes, I probably would eat my pet. I might get a boo or two for this, but I think my pet would eat me, so why not?

  2. Tisha September 19, 2008 at 1:16 pm #

    I think your pet would eat you. I don’t know if I’d eat my pet or not, I may.

Leave a Reply

