Booking Thru Thursday

7 Aug

Okay, sorry I’ve been MIA for a week, but my internet access is limited lately due to the move, so I don’t have time to sit and muse on creative, fun posts. Look for a few in the near future, though, as I’ll have some FOs to share soon.

But, for now, this week’s installment of Booking Thru Thursday. Here’s the prompt:
Are there any particular worlds in books where you’d like to live?

Or where you certainly would NOT want to live?

What about authors? If you were a character, who would you trust to write your life?

(This came to me when reviewing a Jonathan Carroll book – I’m not sure I’d like to live in the worlds of his books.)

Well, here are a few, as I think of them at random:
1. Hogwarts, of course. The wizarding world in general, for that matter. Also, maybe Milford.
2. I would NOT want to live in Dante’s Inferno. That’s for sure.
3. I have always wanted to become a Jane Austen heroine, so that’d be cool. Or, of course, J.K. Rowling (again, duh).

Also, along the lines of all things literary, may I recommend a good book? Here goes …

I just finished reading The Mermaid Chair, by Sue Monk Kidd (she of the Bean Trees book). It was really good. Takes place on a fictional island off of one of the Carolinas (geography isn’t my forte, so to speak). It’s about a woman and her relationship with a crazy mother, her relationship with her husband, and her relationship with a monk. It’s also about the mother and her friendships with two other women on the island, and her descent into psychosis. It’s a really good book; I liked it a lot. Check it out!

3 Responses to “Booking Thru Thursday”

  1. readerville August 8, 2008 at 1:20 am #

    Sue Monk Kidd is great, but Barbara Kingsolver wrote The Bean Trees , which is also great 🙂

  2. Stephanie August 8, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    I would love to live in most wizarding worlds as well. I would also love to be in an Anne McCaffrey story. She’s awesome. I don’t think I would want to live in a Mercedes Lackey story, even though I love her writing, there is usually too much dirt and pain. I don’t know if I would want to be in Fiona McIntosh’s books either, depends on whether I’m cast in a heroine role or not. (In fact it makes a good point that you would want to know what role you would be cast in before you let someone write your life story, wouldn’t it? I certainly wouldn’t want to be you-know-who)

  3. jessecreations August 9, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    Oops – my bad on the Kingsolver/Kidd thing. I thought that looked wrong. 🙂 I wonder what else Sue Monk Kidd wrote, then? Hmm. Secret Life of Bees, maybe? I’m too lazy to look it up, but you get the idea.

    Okay, Steph, I have no idea who those people are you’re writing about. Hmpf.

Leave a Reply

