Literary Endings

31 Jul

Here’s the prompt from this week’s Booking Through Thursday:

What are your favourite final sentences from books? Is there a book that you liked specially because of its last sentence? Or a book, perhaps that you didn’t like but still remember simply because of the last line?

I have no idea. Unfortunately, right now my life is mostly in boxes, somewhere en route from Pennsylvania to Florida. So, of course, I can’t look up any of my fave books to find the last lines. I have a book I’m reading now, The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd. But I don’t want to read the last line, because it might spoil something for me.

My sister, she’s one of those people who reads the last few pages of a book first. She actually read the Harry Potter novels that way, I don’t know how. I imagine those books all have really great last lines, and I seem to remember liking the ending of Jane Eyre pretty well, too. Also, my kids and I truly love the ending page of The Monster at the End of This Book. A classic.

I hope there are other readers out there, booking through Thursday as I am, who are more inspired and have more easily available books for this post!!

5 Responses to “Literary Endings”

  1. Sally July 31, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    Oooo, I cannot understand anyone looking at the end before reading the book; that would ruin it for me.

    PS I was born in PA and now live in FL–welcome!

  2. JLS Hall August 1, 2008 at 3:03 am #

    Isn’t it awful to have your books packed away where you can’t get at them? I have that problem, too, and I’m not even moving anywhere – just don’t have room for all of them on the shelves.

  3. Jessica August 1, 2008 at 5:03 am #

    I remember loving There’s a Monster at the End of This Book as a child. I can’t imagine reading the last lines of a book first! I almost feel bad posting an answer to this BTT because I don’t want to spoil endings for anyone.

  4. Jodi September 8, 2008 at 1:38 am #

    If the book is a good one, reading the ending of said book in no way spoils the remainder of the journey. If anything, it helps enhance the experience, wondering how in the world a good author is going to get from point A to point B.

    Reading the ending to a bad book just saves time.

    In either case, you have to read the first third of any book first, before skipping to the ending.

    Don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it.

    –The Aforementioned Sister

  5. jessecreations September 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    Defend all you want, sister dear, I still say you spoil it. I put a book down after the 1st third if it’s crappy; the ending needs to be a surprise. It must have been hard for mom and dad to hide Christmas presents from you, too, huh? ME, I was the kid who never looked for them in the first place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

