Booking Through Thursday

25 Jul

Okay, so I’m a little late on this, but I’ve decided it would be a fun thing to do every week. So, here goes.

This week’s prompt is: What are your favourite first sentences from books? Is there a book that you liked specially because of its first sentence? Or a book, perhaps that you didn’t like but still remember simply because of the first line?

My answer:

Well, of course, there are too many to count. But here are a few:

“Jacob Marley was dead, to begin with.” (Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol)

“It’s a hot day and I hate my wife.” (This is a short story by Charlie Fish called Death by Scrabble, or Tile M for Murder.)

What about YOU? Read any good first lines lately?

One Response to “Booking Through Thursday”

  1. Bev July 25, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    I love Dickens. I haven’t read them all just slowly working my way through and A Christmas Carol was one of the first I read.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

