A Good Mom Moment

22 Jul

Okay, so let’s face it: I’m a crappy mom at least a few times a week. I lose my patience, I don’t spend enough quality time, and sometimes I’m just plain lazy. But every once in a while, I do something pretty cool that makes my kids happy. And those are the moments when I am reassured that, deep down, I’m a good Mom.

So I had a few of those moments this week, when I found this pattern on Ravelry. I knew my Star Wars crazy son would just HAVE to have one, so used some brown and cream yarn my MIL had found for me at a yard sale and whipped it up. It took next to no time, and turned out pretty cute. The only difference is that I didn’t embroider fur on his face, because I tried it once and it looked weird, so I pulled it out and left him “au naturale,” so to speak. Here is how he turned out, and how happy he made my little man:

Then, of course, my little princess had to have something, too. So I showed her some cute patterns, and she chose this one. This was all well and good, but I had a heck of a time making it work, so I had to make major adjustments. So even though Jilly still calls it her princess doll, I think it looks more like Old Maid from the card game. But either way, she’s a happy kid:

Life is good.

One Response to “A Good Mom Moment”

  1. Stephanie July 22, 2008 at 2:10 am #

    Those are great! I’m sure Will is not letting go of his new toy, and I agree the doll looks a little on the old-fashioned side, but hey, she’s happy! Go Mom!

Leave a Reply

