Foreshadowing?

18 Jul

So, here it is, 10:00 in the morning, and I’m wondering if the way a day begins can foreshadow the rest of the day. See, this morning, I quite literally woke myself up by falling out of bed. I don’t think I’ve done that since childhood, and man did it hurt. It’s all my husband’s fault. Let me explain …

My DH is teaching summer school this summer, which means he has to get up at 5:30 in order to be at work on time. I, on the other hand, am not teaching summer school, so in theory I should be able to sleep in. Well, such theories are all well and good unless you live with a deaf jerk dear husband who can’t hear his own alarm in the mornings as quickly as you can hear it. On top of that, he tends to migrate to my side of the bed over the course of the night, leaving me clutching for dear life to the edge of the bed. You will see why this is significant in a moment.

So, long story short, the alarm is on my side of the bed, and it went off with full barrels blazin’ at 5:30 this morning (after I stayed up until 11pm last night to watch Empire Records), and as I leaned over to turn it off I felt myself continuing to lean myself entirely off the bed, until – BAM! – I hit the floor. So to sum up: this is DH’s fault because he can’t wake up his own sorry ass in the mornings and because he took up so much of my side of the bed that I was left with no leeway to save me from falling off. Grr.

So I wonder if this means the rest of my day will go poorly. It hasn’t been too great so far, to tell the truth. I had to go get a physical for my new job, which involved a tb test. One of these days I will blog about my petrifying fear of needles, but for now, suffice it to say that the TB test was not exactly the highlight of my day. Then, I forgot to bring my wallet to the doctor’s office, so I had a scowling receptionist tell me I would have to come back later this afternoon to pay my copay. I also forgot my physical form, so I have to take that back later, too. This does not bode well for the rest of my day.

However, there was a sunny side to my day. I came home and read this blog post from Cass, and realized that her day was way worse than mine, so I should just shut up now.

One Response to “Foreshadowing?”

  1. Stephanie July 18, 2008 at 2:44 pm #

    Hehehe! you fell out of bed?! I mean… Aww, poor Jess!

    I’ll try to send you some good vibes. Just think, at least the tb needles are tiny!

Leave a Reply

