A Yippy Little Dog Stole My Heart

29 Jun

Those of you who know me have probably heard me rail against what I call, “yippy dogs.” As an example, I have always hated chihuahuas, yorkies, poodles, etc. All those little tiny, ankle-nipping, ear-piercing balls of obnoxious energy have been the bane of my existence over the years. Having grown up with Great Danes and Newfoundlands, and even the moderately-sized shelties, I have always considered such tiny little things to be a waste of space and a detriment to the species.

However, hallelujah I’ve been converted, and I have seen the light. My mother-in-law got a yippy dog a few months ago, and I’ve been dreading our visit to TN because of it. But once I met Holly 2 (named after their last dog, a decrepit yorkie-poo named Holly), she stole my heart immediately. Contrary to my earlier misconceptions, she is NOT yippy at all, and in fact she hardly makes any noise whatsoever. Not once during our week-long visit did she go after any ankles, and she was very good with the kids, too. Plus, just look at her:

Who wouldn’t love that face? She’s a chihuahua/yorkie mix, which means that in her case she has the body of a chihuahua (and the 5lb size to go with it) with yorkie fur. She is full of kisses for anyone who comes near her, and she’s as sweet as can be.

Since the last dog my mother-in-law owned hated me with a vengeance (the feeling was largely mutual), I was very pleasantly surprised by how sweet this one is. I almost smuggled her home in my luggage, but I didn’t think that would be good for in-law relations. Plus, the breeder said she’s not a good dog for little kids, because when Holly was first in their home she was very fragile and had to be consistently monitored and medicated. But in a few years, when good ol’ Pete goes on to doggie heaven, I’m telling you that a dog like this will be mine …. mine!!!

One Response to “A Yippy Little Dog Stole My Heart”

  1. Glenn July 18, 2008 at 7:17 pm #

    I was recently converted to small dogs also (2.5 years ago) I grew up with Golden Retreivers, but had my heart stolen by two lil yorkies.

Leave a Reply

