My monstrous ball of yarn

14 May

So, I bought this monstrous ball of yarn at MD Sheep and Wool. Well, I should say it’s not so much a ball as it was a mass, or a wad, or a gigantic tangled mess. At least, that’s what it became after my husband and I attempted to wind it into a ball. Here’s what it looked like on Monday:

Then I’ve been working on it ever since, sometimes with help. Here are my friend, Stephanie, and my student, Alexis, helping me:

Now, of course, Stephanie is a big yarnie like I am, but Alexis is a novice. Just look at her concentration here:

She’s hooked, alright. The yarn addiction sinks in as the lanolin smoothes her skin. Ha ha ha ha ha!

Next up, we’ll teach her how to work with the yarn once it’s wound!

4 Responses to “My monstrous ball of yarn”

  1. Stephanie May 14, 2008 at 10:45 pm #

    That’s so great! I love the pictures!

  2. tickleslordchaos May 15, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    I have a ball of yarn like that. It’s an angora blend, and it when I tried to wind it using a swift and ball winder, it just tangled. I’ve been working on it in bits and pieces for months. I am going to need more of it soon to finish a sweater I am making, and I’m not sure I have the stamina to do it!

  3. notajediknitter May 15, 2008 at 11:24 am #

    I have a ball (mess) of malabrigo that my dog got into, want to wind that for me?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ravelry Saves the Day! « Storied Yarns - February 10, 2010

    […] an unruly ball of yarn and then send it back. So, I knew I had the job for her. Remember this, my monstrous ball of yarn? I sent it off to Kinichiriver and she turned it into this: Lovely yarn […]

Leave a Reply

