Fiber Arts Friday: Distaff Day and More

1 Jan

So next week is Distaff Day, which I have blogged about recently. I got a big ol’ box of spinning goodies in the mail today from a group of people in the Moonwood Farms group on Ravelry. We all got together and put together goodie bags of interesting stuff to spin and then one of our group members distributed the goodies and sent them back out to us. Here’s what I got:

Opening the Box of Wonder

The box is chock full of goodies, including various types of silk and cotton, animal fibers ranging from alpaca to cat to wolf (yes, I said wolf, and I’m super excited about that one) and even mini batts made with dryer lint! I’m thinking I’ll spin at least two yarns, one from the “super weird” or possibly unuseable stuff like paper and dryer lint and one from the different types of animal and plant fibers, but we’ll see. I have until next weekend to decide, which is when we’re celebrating Distaff Day on Ravelry. It’s going to kill me to wait until then to dig into this stuff and spin it up!

In other fibery news, this week I’m having a sale in my Artfire Studio – use code Newyear1011 at checkout to get 30% off your whole order from now until January 5, 2011. Go ahead, buy yourself something nice for the new year. :)

This week I have only been knitting on one project, but it’s a secret for now. In spinning news, I did finish a few skeins since my last post, and here they are:

Corespun "Twinkle Lights" Maki Batt from Play at Life Fiber Arts

DK singles from a Counting Sheep Farm "Muppets" Batt

My "House of Night" colorway on Punta, thread plied

So anyway, I hope you are all having a nice, restful new year weekend and gearing up for some great fiber arts fun in the new year!

I also want to officially invite you to join my Storied Yarns group on Ravelry. We’re having a New Year WIP Wrangle and Stash-Down challenge, where we work from Jan 1 through March 15 to finish up those poor, neglected WIPs and stash acquisitions (spinning and knitting and other crafting all accepted) from 2010 and earlier before really kicking off the new year. There are prizes, so come on over and play with us!

In the meantime, head on over to Andrea’s blog and check out the rest of the Fiber Arts Friday fun!

2 Responses to “Fiber Arts Friday: Distaff Day and More”

  1. Wonder Why Gal January 1, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Beautiful yarns and I love your Artfire shop. I wish you lots of sales there in the coming year.

    I’ve already joined your Storied Yarns Group and I’m itching to finish my last knitting project so I can start your KAL.

    Happy New Year!
    Happy Fiber Arts Friday!

  2. AllyB January 1, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Ooo, pretty yarns. I checked out your ArtFire shop also and found some very nice things. I’ll have to check back when I recover from the purchase of my spinning wheel, LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

